Skip to content

I need help understanding qualifications

The National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ)





  • The NFQ is a system of 10 levels


  • Levels represent all learning from beginners to advanced, for example the Junior Certificate is level 3


  • Includes qualifications achieved in school, Further Education and Training (FET) and third level education


  • Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) look after the NFQ and make awards in further education and training and third level education


  • You can find out more about which organisations provide what QQI accredications here


  • A qualification may be awarded for a component (part) or a complete (full) award at any level


  • You can find your qualification level on the diagram below. For an interactive map go to


Back to top